Bucketlist #11: Eat an Oyster

You may have heard the same stories about eating an oyster as I have: oysters are either a treat for the rich (and, not to forget, an afrodisiac!) or they are slimy, blubbery disgusting thingies that may (but probably won’t) contain a pearl. Which side are you on?

Trying on a necklace with oyster pearls in Thailand

Trying on a necklace with oyster pearls in Thailand

I’m very picky when it comes to food. Yeah, I know… How do I survive on the road? Let’s just say I have my ways. Anyways, I’ve always wanted to try an oyster, even though I suspected I wouldn’t like them. I don’t like seafood food, period.

Source: jonrowley

Two summers ago, my family and I went on a spur of the moment trip to the north of France and that is where I got my chance. We were at this restaurant with a panoramic view over the harbor of Calais. The view wasn’t enough to distract me from the awful oyster slime though. I mean, yuck! It’s like swallowing blubbery sea water. And this is supposed to turn me on? Yeah right.

SommeEven though I now know that I’m never going to eat an oyster again, I had a lovely time in the Somme region!

Do you remember eating your first oyster?

What do you say?

