Blonde Gone International #2: I never run out of stories to tell

I am girl gone international because… I never run out of stories to tell.Girl GI

BGI

When somebody tells me a story, many of my replies more or less go by this formula: “I can totally relate. When I was in X, I experienced the same thing!

I have been blogging for a year before I started Blonde Gone Travel and I am still not done telling the world about my international experieces. Even more so, I don’t think I’ll run out of stories any time soon, because I’m not done looking for adventures yet.

Even though my bucketlist is twice as long as my list of achievements – and still expands gradually – there are still a lot of things I want to share with all of you. There are a few people (from bloggers to athletes, from engineers to celebrities or even friends and family) who inspire me and have challenged me to do things I’d never have done if it weren’t for them. I want to inspire people, give them valuable first-hand information, entertain them and simply be there for them when they need it. It’s a trial and error thing, but I learn from my mistakes. I am aware that these are very ambitious goals to set for myself.

The last two years, especially girls my age have come to me to ask how the hell I am able to 1) afford traveling and especially 2) to do it all by myself. I have told them stories about the good and bad experiences I’ve had. The good ones are meant to encourage them. The bad ones are a reality-check and keep them with their feet on the ground. I always end by saying that you have to decide for yourself what you want, what the minimum is you can live with and how you’re going to make it happen. It’s your choice, your life and your responsibility.

My blogs are meant to reach out to those people I can’t speak to in person. And, frankly, I also blog because, basically, I like to write and I like to share. Whether I’m doing it right – probably not. But I’m not sure if there is a right way to blog anyway?

By now, I have shared with you about 15 achievements – stories basically – from my bucketlist and I have made my Erasmus Diary public for you and for future Erasmus participants who want to see a different way to enjoy such an exchange. I didn’t participate in any ESN activity or events by similar organisations (note: I don’t have anything against such organisations; they’re just not for me). Instead, I discovered my host country and the neighboring nations. Even though Because I traveled by myself, I got to meet a lot of people, some of whom I still have contact with (long live Facebook!), and got to know the cities I visited from a local’s point of view.

What it all comes down to is this: traveling turns you into a free library with a lot of interesting stories worth telling. People can come to you, pick a book and decide which chapter they want to look at in detail (footnotes included).

Do you know what it’s like to never be able to shut up about your travel stories?

What do you say?

