Blonde Gone International #5: I’d rather travel the world than be stuck in the office

I’m a girl gone international because I’d rather travel the world than be stuck in the office Girl GI

bgiYou know who I’m sometimes jealous of? Freelancers. I’ve noticed that, besides full-time blogging, travel bloggers usually do some freelance work on the side. I mean, you gotta pay for everything, right? From reading others’ posts on the subject, I have learned that blogging doesn’t make you rich. Even the best bloggers out there have to really think about what they spend. Good thing they’re open about this. I tend to get my head up in the clouds real quick, even though my intention never was – nor is it now – to make blogging my profession. This is my hobby and I’d hate for me to get bored with it because I have to do it.

Anyways, I’m not an office kind of person.

I am a total city girl, who absolutely did not like nature. I mean, when I had to be in it. Like for hikes and stuff. This changed a bit when I went to university. The first two years I had to spend Christmas and New Year’s Eve at home for the first time ever instead of going to far away countries (or skiing in the Alps). I had to study for my exams in January. Depressed by not seeing the sun for so long, I devoured any ray of sun that glided over my grandparents terrace starting in March. That’s how I learned that I study best outside in the sun. Whether it’s the fresh air or the Vitamine D or both, I don’t know.

So, I still wouldn’t say I like nature – except when it’s 100% my own decision to go for a hike, like I did in the hills in Scotland last year – but I do love to be outdoors. And to choose my own hours to do all of my work. Basically, I don’t like to be told what to do and I’ve found that, when I do things because I want to do them, the result will be a lot better and I’ll feel satisfied. But maybe that’s just me.

I do wish the whole world could be my office though. I want to study with a view of the ocean in Bali one month and of the vineyards of California the next. Sort of speak. But what kind of freelancing would I do? Translating? Travel journalism? Certainly not web developing. I tried to learn CSS once and I didn’t get past making my text red or blue.

Anyways, I would love to have a job later that allows me to travel around the world – either for work or for pleasure. I’d make the most of what I’d got, especially because I’m still young. By the time I’m old, I’ll probably have to work until I’m 70, all wrinkled and suffering from artritis! I should enjoy the time to be young, and healthy, and strong to chase my dreams. And my dream is to work my way around the world.

Is it your dream to travel the world?

What do you say?

