Bucketlist #23: Win the Lottery

Last week I celebrated my 22nd birthday. I don’t know about you, but I’m feeling twenty twoooo

Sorry, I couldn’t help myself!

Okay, continuing… So, birthdays mean presents. And amongst my presents were three Win For Life tickets! I am that person who has neither luck in love nor in the game. I never won anything… that is, until April 8th, 2015.

There is some irony here. One of my guy friends is very… reserved. I have a hard time figuring out what he likes, so for the last two years I’ve bought him a few Win For Life tickets. If he won something, he could buy whatever he wanted, I figured. Fortunately, he liked the idea and the excitement that went ahead of scratching the ticket. Unfortunately, he never won anything (yet). Not even when he bought his own tickets afterward.

This year, he gave me my own three tickets to scratch. If you have ever played the lottery, you know how exciting it is – that moment when you uncover the symbols, compare them to the winning symbols and find out whether you’ve won anything or nothing.

Each ticket I got gave me two tries. Already on the second try of my first ever lottery ticket… I’d won €5! We were playing bowling at the same time – five of my friends and I – and within the distance of five lanes, everybody must have known that I won. Oops. It wasn’t necessarily that I was happy with winning only 5 euro, but just the fact that I won something was all that mattered. I could barely contain my excitement.

The second ticket, I won nothing. But I had already decided I was perfectly happy with that one win. But then, with the third and last ticket… I won again. And again! Two times 10 euros! I almost cried with happiness. I couldn’t stop laughing. This truly was the perfect birthday gift.

Win-lottery-for-life

Have you ever won anything in the lottery? Is winning the lottery on your bucketlist as well?

What do you say?

